El Derecho a la Información en América Latina Comparación Jurídica

Autor(es) : Mendel, Toby

Organización : UNESCO Office Quito and Regional Bureau for Communication and Information in Latin America and the Caribbean

Editor : Quito, UNESCO, 2009

Paginación :

164 p.

Notas :

Electronic version only

The first chapter of this book, International Standards and Trends, analyses the international basis for claiming the right to information as a fundamental human right. The analysis reviews authoritative international statements, and the decisions of international courts and quasijudicial bodies, as well as relevant national developments. The second chapter probes the specific implications of the various standards for right to information legislation, analysing this within the framework of nine right to information principles. These chapters are largely incorporated from the second edition of the companion to this book. These chapters are followed by analyses of the laws of the 11 countries in Latin America which have adopted right to information laws, namely Chile, Colombia, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru and Uruguay. Each country section is organised under the same set of headings. A brief introduction is followed by headings on the right of access, procedural guarantees, the duty to publish, exceptions, appeals, sanctions and protections, and promotional measures. The country/intergovernmental organisation sections are followed by a chapter on Comparative Analysis which highlights similarities and differences in the various laws, following the same structure as the country chapters. In describes, in particular, the main approaches for implementing the principles underpinning the right to information, as well as some of the more innovative systems that have been tried in different countries.

  • Acceso a la información, Estrategias de lucha contra la corrupción, Sistema judicial, Marco jurídico, Herramientas de diagnóstico / Encuestas, Desarrollo económico y social, Convenciones internacionales
  • América Latina y el Caribe
    Colombia, República Dominicana, Ecuador, Guatemala, Honduras, México, Nicaragua, Panamá, Perú, Uruguay, Chile